SEED EATING HIPPY CHICK? NAH, NOT ME!

Similar to coconut oil, I struggled with my refusal to fall into the marketing gurus web of superfoods, and didn’t want to be known as the seed eating hippy chick!  Well, I crumbled.  I crumbled big time, and am now addicted to the humble chia seed. Very overpriced in the big supermarkets, (which also put me off), but through research, I once again found them at a pocket pleasing cost in my local independent health food shop – Grape Tree and on-line.

In short, the chia seed is jam packed with goodness.  And I mean jam packed!  They are rich in polyunsaturated fats, especially omega-3 fatty acids (60%), making them one of the richest plant-based sources of these fatty acids.  Two tablespoons of the seeds contain one third of the recommended daily amount (10g) of fiber, 8% of calcium, 35% of phosphorus, 24% of magnesium and about 50% of manganese.

When the seeds are mixed with liquid the outer layer swells, which changes its consistency and becomes a gel.  Because of this, chia seeds are an excellent egg replacer for cooking and baking, which can lower cholesterol and increase the nutrient content of foods and baked goods. To make the egg replacement, mix 1 tablespoon of chia seeds with 3 tablespoons of water and let sit for 15 minutes.

Chia seeds can play an important role in regulating insulin levels too They can reduce insulin resistance and decrease abnormally high levels of insulin in the blood.

I tend to mix the seeds in with my porridge oats and nut milk to make my overnight oats for breakfast.  It’s really simple to make and tastes pretty good.  You can add what ever toppings you like in the morning, and if you’re tight for time in the morning, make up the mix in a mason jar, leave in the fridge over night, then grab and go in the morning!

chia 1 chia 2

Overnight Oats with Chia Seeds.

You will need:

  • ¼ cup oats
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ¾ cup unsweetened almond milk
  • A splash of vanilla essence / extract

Method:

  1. In a small bowl or jar, combine oats, chia seeds, cinnamon, almond milk, and vanilla. Cover and chill in refrigerator overnight, at least 8 hours.
  2. It’s now up to you to add what you like!  I love warm peanut butter, sliced banana and maple syrup. Grated pear and yoghurt and even mixed nuts!

Let your imagination run wild!

Leave a comment