Go Nuts For the Coconut

The latest ‘super food’ to hit our shelves is Coconut Oil.  It’s everywhere I go right now.  And to be honest, I’m glad that it’s being brought to the masses.  I’ve been buying coconut oil since February, and in the beginning I was put off the by the price, at £6.00 for 300ml, to me seemed a little steep.  But with adequate research I eventually bit the bullet and handed over my well earned cash.  And I haven’t looked back.  This is one of the super food I recommend you fork out for.

My friends and family stop and stare in horror as I add it to literally everything I cook.  And I mean everything! From roasting veg in it to adding it into hot drinks and smoothies!  But, the last laugh is on them, as I get positive ‘yummy’ comments and even my Mum has now converted to buying coconut oil.  Result!

Oh and also, I smother it over my body and even in my hair – crazy I know!  But it really is an amazing natural product.

It’s also suggests it can help speed weight loss when consumed daily – so why wouldn’t I try it?!

I use Lucy Bee Coconut Oil which to me taste the best, check out their website for the full explanation.

In all my recipes I use coconut oil, unless otherwise stated.  I tend to add it in its solid state to saucepans etc,  but melt it in the microwave for marinating foods and for baking.

FishCakesHere is a simple, budget-busting, easy to make meal, using the A-Mazing coconut oil in the most simplified method!

I’ve served my spicy fish burgers with cauliflower rice (I’ll do another blog on this – watch this space) and good old rocket! It makes 4-6 burgers depending on the size you make them.

You will need:

  • 350g fish pie mix
  • 20g frozen spinach, defrosted and squeeze out the liquid. (I always by fresh spinach and then freeze it, so much more cost-effective)
  • 1 spring onion
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger (Again, buy fresh and freeze)
  • 1/2 red chilli
  • 1tbsp capers
  • 2tsp soy sauce or Liquid Aminos
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • A grind of salt and pepper
  • Ground almonds (add a few tsp at a time if mixture is too wet)
  • 2tsp coconut oil
  1. To make the burgers, blitz the chopped fish in a food processor with the spinach, spring onion, ginger, chilli, capers, soy sauce, lemon zest, and salt and pepper.
  2. If the mixture is too wet to hold together into patties add in a little ground almond.  Once the patties are made place on a plate and leave to chill in the fridge for half an hour.
  3. Heat the coconut oil in a pan over a medium to high heat, and fry the burgers for 4-6 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.
  4. Serve.

Let me know what you think of these tasty fish burgers, and please share your creations.